You are here

COUNTDOWN: DAYS HRS MINS SECS

CFP: Africa Research Group (ARG) 6th International Conference

Date: 
Wednesday, September 4, 2019 to Friday, September 6, 2019

Hosts: Africa Research Group (ARG), China Research Group (CRG), Nottingham University Business School China (NUBS China), Institute of Asia and Pacific Studies (IAPS), Nottingham Centre for Globalisation and Economic Policy (GEP)
Venue: UNNC, Ningbo, China (specific venue tbc).

Key dates:
First announcement of call for papers: 14 April 2018
Deadline for all submissions: 20 February 2019
Announcement of results: 31 March 2019
Registration deadline: 31 May 2019
Announcement of Conference Programme: 30 June 2019
Conference dates: 4-6 September 2019

Conference theme:
Africa-China business and investment relations: casting new light on the phenomenon

Conference overview
With the increasing Africa-China engagement particularly in light of China’s new ‘Belt and Road’ policy, this conference seeks papers that contribute to our understanding of the nature of this engagement with regard to, inter alia, the economic, investment/industrial, social-cultural and trade/business dimensions. This engagement has important implications for Africa’s industrial-economic rejuvenation, and as Chinese investments become significant players in what has come to be viewed as Africa’s renaissance, we see an important opportunity to debate this phenomenon, to identify appropriate theoretical lenses for an emergent and hence under-researched phenomenon, and to shed light on how mutually-beneficial relations might be created amongst the various stakeholders, including academics, practitioners and policy-makers, Chinese managers and African employees, and so forth. Papers may draw from a range of theoretical and methodological perspectives. We welcome papers that shed new light on, but are not limited to:

  • the drivers of China’s interest in Africa and Africa’s resources
  • the Asian firm in Africa/ the African firm in Asia
  • human resource issues, cultural diversity and managerial expertise
  • implications of the Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) for Africa
  • Geopolitics, aid, and the role of soft power
  • Chinese migration into Africa & role of the Chinese diaspora in Africa
  • China’s involvement in African agribusiness
  • the role of initiatives such as the Forum of China-Africa Cooperation (FOCAC)
  • indigenous knowledge, innovation and entrepreneurialism
  • corporate governance, CSR and business ethics
  • China-Africa tourism
  • Industry 4.0 and Lean
  • Made in China 2025
  • big data and supply chain management

Organizing Committee

- Professor Ken Kamoche, University of Nottingham, ken.kamoche@nottingham.ac.uk
- Dr Saileshsingh Gunessee, University of Nottingham Ningbo China, saileshsingh.gunessee@nottingham.edu.cn
- Dr Nana Kufuor, University of Nottingham Ningbo China, nana.kufuor@nottingham.edu.cn
- Dr Xuan Feng, University of Nottingham Ningbo China, xuan.feng@nottingham.edu.cn
- Professor May-Tan Mullins, University of Nottingham Ningbo China, may.tanmullins@nottingham.edu.cn
- Dr Chang Liu, University of Nottingham Ningbo China, chang.liu@nottingham.edu.cn
- Professor Xiaoling Zhang, University of Nottingham Ningbo China, xiaoling.zhang@nottingham.edu.cn
- Professor Lina Song, University of Nottingham, lina.song@nottingham.ac.uk
- Dr Bin Wu, University of Nottingham, bin.wu@nottingham.ac.uk
- Professor Kim Hua Tan, University of Nottingham, Kim.Tan@nottingham.ac.uk
- Professor Nathaniel Boso, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, nboso@knust.edu.gh
- Mr Devkumar Callychurn, University of Mauritius, d.callychurn@uom.ac.mu
- Associate Professor Dinesh Kumar Hurreeram, University of Mauritius, dk.hurreeram@uom.ac.mu
- Professor Musa Mangena, University of Essex, mm17456@essex.ac.uk
- Professor Fang Lee Cooke, Monash University, fang.cooke@monash.edu
- Professor Abel Kinoti, Riara University, akinoti@riarauniversity.ac.ke
- Dr Shem Maingi, Kenyatta University, maingi.shem@ku.ac.ke
- Dr Andrew Ssemwanga, St Lawrence University, Uganda, assemwanga@gmail.com
- Dr Pratima Sambajee, University of Strathclyde, pratima.sambajee@strath.ac.uk
- Dr Carla Jones, Sam Houston State University, cdj033@SHSU.edu

Accommodation (tbc)

Registration fee (tbc)
The conference fee will include admission to all academic sessions, conference information pack, coffee breaks and lunches, Welcome Reception on Wednesday 4 September and Conference Dinner on Thursday 5 September.

Submission guidelines

  • Times New Roman 12pt, single spacing
  • Full papers no longer than 30 pages; extended abstracts between 2 and 8 pages
  • No identifying information (author's names, email addresses, institutions)
  • Include a separate one page document with author details
  • Harvard style referencing
  • No changes in the paper title, abstract, authorship, etc after the submission deadline

Publication
Previous ARG conferences produced a special issue of the International Journal of Human Resource Management (2012), Personnel Review (2015), and a book, Effective people Management in Africa, Palgrave Macmillan (2013). We are exploring the opportunity of a special issue.

Submissions procedure:

For all queries, please contact either Professor Ken Kamoche or Dr Saileshsingh Gunessee

Africa Research Group:
http://www.nottingham.ac.uk/business/businesscentres/africarg/index.aspx

Further details will be provided in due course.

Privacy Notice
As per the University GDPR guidelines, the ARG is holding your email address for the sole purpose of communicating details about ARG events. We do not use your data for marketing purposes. If you do not wish to hear from us or have received this email by mistake, you may unsubscribe by replying to: africaresearchgroup@nottingham.ac.uk
For further details, please visit https://www.nottingham.ac.uk/utilities/privacy/privacy.aspx

 

Categories: